Date(s) - August 13, 2021
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Categories No Categories
The Captain Timothy Hill House was built sometime around 1800. In 1828 there were 26 homes on Chincoteague Island and the Captain Timothy Hill House is the last known survivor of those 26 homes. Purchased in 2009 by Paul Brzozowski and Louisa Flaningam, the house was saved from demolition. The owners started restoration in 2010. Their goal was to bring the house back to it’s original self. Guided by architectural historians from Colonial Williamsburg, the restoration was done by 2011. The house was listed on the National Register of Historic Places and The Virginia Landmarks Register.
In 2017 they added a replication of the wooden chimney that would have been part of the original construction in 1800. Only two houses in Virginia that were built with a wooden chimney are still standing today and the Hill House is one of them.
This house is an example of how so many of our ancestors would have lived and survived in the early days of our nation. And, for us today, a chance to appreciate how very different life was more than 200 years ago. Visit the Captain Timothy Hill House on Fridays, from 1pm – 3pm to learn about it’s restoration and unique history. Admission is free. Donations accepted.